Cats VS Health

Does being around cats make you feel sick? Have you ever wondered why there are some many people with cat allergies? Or what is it about them that make others sick?  Well I could say that I have thought about all these. So I decide to look up the facts and find out what it was about these animals and I am here to tell you all about them and to look out for your health.  In the United States about 10% of the population has cat allergies. This is a pretty decent amount of people to have a cat allergy. Being allergic to cats you would think has to do with their fur and the amount of hair that they shed each day. In reality this has nothing to do with it. It all has to do with the proteins within the cat. They are specifically allergic to the cat proteins inside their saliva, urine and the dander. The dander has to do with their flakes of dry skin they leave all around your house. It is gross, yes I know. Even those disgusting out door cats can have an effect on your allergy if they come near you because of all the stuff they may find or even be in while there outside.  The symptoms that you may have a cat allergy can show up almost immediately after coming to a house with cats or it could take a few hours. Some of the signs to look out for are coughing, sneezing, wheezing and runny nose along with plenty more. If you have any of these you can go to the doctor and they can do test to determine if you are or not. If you so happen to be they will prescribe you with some type of medication to help you with your symptoms.

I would have never thought cat allergy could be this common. I would not risk my health for animal that I do not really care to have or be around. I am sure there are plenty of people that have tis allergy and refuse to get rid of their cat even though it is the reason that they are sick all the time. The feeling of being sick all the time would not really work for me so I just would not have one. I am just not a big cat lover if you cannot tell already and the fact that people really enjoy having these animals around. I am very much of a dog lover but I can say I am not a big dog lover I would not want to be around the big dogs because they are a little bit scary. I would like to stick with my little dogs. If it ever came down to choosing a cat or a big dog I would still choose a big dog because cats are just not my type of animal. It is just my personal opinion on these animals and I am sure that I am not alone in this situation. I am a very strong dog lover and will continue to be.

Research information:http://www.webmd.com/allergies/guide/cat-allergies?page=2

Leave a comment